To a Broken God

Didn’t see You there, didn’t know You were weeping too,

I think of tears as a human wound;

Though of course You care, You have shown

You were human too,

They say You cried at Lazarus’ tomb.

I was unaware how it is with a broken God,

I thought of You as above my pain;

Lost in my despair, so it is with a broken heart,

I never dreamed You could feel the same.

Once, in a magazine I saw a face

Wrinkled up in grief and travailed grace,

I kept looking to that face, some sad refugee in some

sad place,

And in his eyes the sorrow of our race,

Then I saw it was the face of God, the face of God

Your face, dear God.

Some say You’re not there, just a myth for a lazy life,

An artifact from an ancient scroll,

But I have known You near in the gift of a weary sigh,

Lord of the lost and the lonesome soul.

I was unaware how it is with a broken God,

I never dreamed You could feel the same.

Words and Music by Michael Kelly Blanchard

Performed by Michael Card on his album The Hidden Face of God

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to To a Broken God

  1. Ryan Conrad says:

    Love that song man! I needed that reminder today…

  2. Ryan Conrad says:

    More blogging, more blogging…where are you brother Steve; just seein how you been doin….hope you aren’t staying too busy…

Leave a Reply

